Mobile Phones still rule in Telephony

I’ve been reading a lot of VoIP related blogs lately as I try to figure out the landscape and what it means for operators, what caught my eye about this one is simply that it mimics the way I do thing, the difference here being that I don’t pay my own bill I guess, however I look at and use all these VoIP products but the fact is that it is still easier for me to use my mobile for all the reasons Ken points out below, plus for me I have my main address book on my phone so anyone I want to talk to I can reach easily, all these softphones require a new set of buddies, I have to get them to sign up etc, it’s usuall just too much hassle for my non geek/techie friends.

Even when I tell them it will be free they don’t care because it just seems too much like hard work and that’s the problem in a nutshell for me, and now over to Ken…

“I write a lot about VoIP and unified communications. I do a lot in the broader space of mobility and video too. But people are often surprised when they ask me what my primary VoIP phone is, because for the most part, I don’t use one. For the most part, I don’t use a lanline wired phone either. My primary telephone is my cell phone. And a big part of the reason is the rich user experience.

I can sit on the sofa watching TV in the evening, and frankly, I don’t want my laptop in my lap. So I don’t use Skype, Gizmo, or any softphone client then. My landline phone is a feature-poor dial tone appliance. It’s next to worthless and service only one purpose. My cell phone lets me keep check on email, peek at the web if I need to, keep current with SMS messages, and take phone calls to. It’s a full, rich user experience.”

(Via Realime Unified Communications Blog.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

