New Plaxo

I logged on today to check a new contact had synced correctly, I use Plaxo because it was the easiest way I could find at the time to sync my Outlook address book with my Mac Address book.

I don’t always trust it, or more specifically the sync tool from inside our VPN to be precise, however it had worked and I was about to close when I saw a little white hippo asking if i wanted to try out the new Alpha version, so being a sucker for all things new and flaky I decided to give it a go.

Picture 1

The new interface is very nice, a couple of little errors on formatting (using Firefox on Mac) but it went flawlessly, new plugins for XP/Outlook and Mac, the XP one seems very much the same, however the Mac one is much better, for a start it supports Growl now so I can see what’s going on with it more easily ( I really like growling things)

I also noticed that I can now sync with Google so decided to try that out, it will be nice to have everything I use in sync, especially a calendar that’s easily accessible from anywhere, now I am spoilt for choice when I need access:

  • Outlook under XP with VPN
  • Outlook Web Access
  • Entourage under OS X
  • Plaxo online
  • Google

So should never have trouble accessing anything, even from any mobile device I happen to have at hand.

I have some friends that hate Plaxo with a passion, however they provide a valuable service for me so will continue to use, I may even pay for Premium soon if the Alpha works out ok (as I write this the Google sync part is having trouble apparently) and continues to improve the interface and underlying sync tools

Good job Plaxo !

Technorati Tags: , , ,

2 comments so far

  1. […] Using Zyb it’s possible to store contacts, calendar and you can forward SMS (although this is pretty clunky right now), the contact sync works like Plaxo does in that if two people both use Zyb and one updates his contact details it is automatically updated in the other users address book (one of many things I like about Plaxo) […]

  2. […] Posted June 26, 2007 I recently wrote how much I liked the new Plaxo, I’ve seen a lot of buzz about them recently too. most of it […]


Leave a Reply

